Indian Festivals

India is well known all over the world as a country of cultural and traditional festivals as it has many cultures and religions. One can enjoy the festival celebration in India every month. As it is a secular country full of diversity in the religions, languages, cultures and castes, it is always crowded with the people involved in the fairs and festivals celebration. People from each religion have their own cultural and traditional festivals. Some of the festivals are celebrated by the people of all religions in the entire nation. Each and every festival is celebrated uniquely in different ways according to the rituals, beliefs and its significant history behind. Each festival has its own history, legend and significance of celebration. Indian origin people in the abroad also celebrate their cultural festival with the immense passion.

India is a country with example of unity in diversity as it contains people of various religions like Hindu, Muslim, Sikh, Jain, Christian and etc. Some of the festivals are celebrated at national level whereas some of are at regional level. According to the religions and rituals, festivals have been categorized into following categories:

Hindu Festivals

There are lots of cultural and traditional festivals celebrated by the people of Hindu religion all over the world. Hinduism is considered as the oldest organized religion of the world as well as counted as the third largest religion of the world. Each Hindu festival celebration has a special ritual to be celebrated in that way by the act of worship, offerings to deities, offering Ganga Jal, fasting, bathing in Ganga jal in early morning, feasting, Dan, Dakshina, Puja, Katha, Hoom, aarti and so many. All the people of Hindu religion celebrate their festivals by uniting together in community without any distinction of age, caste and gender.

The dates of the Hindu festivals are fixed according to the dates of the Hindu calendar, lunar calendar which depends on the sun and moon movements throughout the year. Some of the festivals of Hindu are celebrated as the historical mythology, some for seasonal changes and some for cleaning and keeping the environment safe. Some of the festivals celebrations are limited to the specific sects or Indian subcontinent regions.

There are many believes in the Hinduism because of various historical sculptures (Bhagavad Gita, Mahabharata and Ramayana), ancient and sacred religious text (Rig Veda, Sama Veda, Yajur Veda and Atharva Veda), Hindus deities and etc. The birth and death anniversaries of the god and goddess are also celebrated in the Hinduism with lots of fun and frolic activities such as music, dance and etc. Below is the list of all the Hindu festivals:

Festivals in 2018

 

Hindu Festivals Date – 2018
Lohri13 January, Saturday
Makar Sankranti14 January, Sunday
Pongal14 January, Sunday
Vasant Panchami22 January, Monday
Thaipusam31 January, Wednesday
Maha Shivaratri13 February, Tuesday
Holika Dahan1 March, Thursday
Holi2 March, Friday
Chaitra Navratri18 March Sunday to 26 March Monday
Ugadi/Telugu New Year28 March, Wednesday
Gangaur Festival20 March, Tuesday
Mewar Festival18 March Sunday – 20 March Tuesday
Ram Navami25 March Monday
Mahavir Jayanti29 March Thursday
Hanuman Jayanti31 March Saturday
Rath Yatra14 July, Saturday
Guru Purnima27 July, Friday
Onam15 August Wednesday to 27 August Monday
Raksha Bandhan26 August Sunday
Kumbh Mela29 August Wednesday to 18 September Tuesday
Janmashtami2 September Sunday
Ramlila8 September Friday to 8 October Sunday
Ganesh Chaturthi12 September Wednesday
Brahmotsavam10 October Wednesday to 18 October Thursday
Pitr Paksh24 September Monday to 8 October Monday
Rambarat8 October Sunday
Navratra10 October Wednesday to 18 October Thursday
Dussehra19 October Friday
Maharishi Valmiki jayanti24 October Wednesday
Karva Chauth28 October Sunday
Dev Uthani Ekadashi19 November Monday
Dhanteras5 November Monday
Diwali7 November Wednesday
Govardhan Puja8 November Thursday
Bhai Dooj9 November Friday
Chhath Puja11 November Sunday to 14 November Wednesday

Muslim Festivals

All the people of Muslim religion enthusiastically celebrate their all the Islamic festivals all over the world. There are many religious festivals which they celebrate with great passion and dedication by following the date of their Islamic calendar. Some of the very important Islam festivals are Ramzan (Ramadan), Id-e-Milad, Muharram, Bakr-Id and etc which they celebrate in special ways by offering prayers in the mosques, feasting, fasting and wishing to each other.

They decorate their homes with colored lights and other things in the evening and celebrate throughout the night by getting together. Some of the Islamic festivals have been declared as the public holiday in the educational institutions, government offices and other working place. Islam was founded by the spiritualist Muhammad around the 7th century which has become the 2nd largest religion worldwide. The Islam has five most significant Pillars such as “Shahadah (Faith), Salah (Prayer), Zakah (Donate), Sawm (Fasting) and Hajj (Pilgrimage)”. Below is the list of all Muslim festivals:

Muslim Festivals Date – 2018
Barawafat11 December, Monday
Milad-Un-Nabi20 November Tuesday to 21 November Wednesday
Giaravahin Sharif22 January, Sunday
Hazarat Ali’s Birthday29 March, Thursday
Shab E Miraj12 April Thursday to 13 April Friday
Shab-e-Barat30 April Monday to 1 May Tuesday
Jamat-Ul-Vida14 June Thursday to 15 June Friday
Id-ul-Fitr (Ramzan Eid)14 June Thursday to 15 June Friday
Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid or Eid Ul-Adha)21 August Tuesday to 22 August Wednesday
Muharram21 September Friday

Sikh Festivals

As India is considered as the country of numerous religions, cultures and traditions that’s why it is known as having unity in diversity. People of Sikh religion have lots of unique and ritual festivals which they celebrate with full courage and enjoyment. They commemorate the lives of their 10 Sikh gurus including their teachings. Some Hindu festivals are also celebrated by the people of Sikh religion having different reasons of celebration.

All the worship at the festival in Sikhism is directed towards the holy book called “the Guru Granth Sahib” which was first compiled by the Sikh guru, Guru Nanak and later edited by the Sikh Guru, Arjan. The Guru Granth of the Sikh religion has the place of deity among people and taken out on a palanquin in the public processions while celebrating any Sikh festival. They involve lots of music and religious songs, readings from the holy book, holy songs, singing of gurbani while celebrating their festivals in order to attach with God. Below is the list of all Sikh festivals:

 

Sikh Festivals Date – 2018
Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti5 January Friday
Lohri13 January Saturday
Holla Mohalla2 March Friday to 4 March Sunday
Sodal mela15 September Saturday
Guru Ramdass Ji Birthday9 October Tuesday
Guru Nanak Jayanti23 November Friday
Guru Purab23 November Friday

Jain Festivals

People from Jain religion have lots of rituals and religious ceremonies to be celebrated as the festival. Their rituals belong to the idol worships in various ways and festivals belong to the life events of Tirthankara which involves the purification of the soul. Their rituals are divided in two parts named Karya and Kriya. According to the Jain Svetambara there are six obligatory duties called Six Avashyakas which are “Chaturvishnati-stava: praising Tirthankaras, Kayotsarga: meditation, Pratikramana: expiation of past sins, Pratyakhyana: renunciation of anything, Samyika: practising serenity and meditation and Vandan: respecting teachers and ascetics”.

According to the Jain Digambara there are six duties which are “Dana: charity, Devapuja: worship of Tirthankaras, Guru-upashti: respecting teachers and ascetics, Sanyam: controlling self by following different rules, Swadhyaya: studying spiritual texts and Tapa: austerities” which has been involved as a fundamental ritual activities of the Jains. Below is the list of all Jain festivals:

Jain Festivals Date – 2018
Deep Diwali22 November Thursday
Mahamastak Abhishek17 February Saturday to 25 February Sunday
Mahavir Jayanti29 March Thursday
Paryushan7 September Friday to 14 September Friday

Christian Festivals

As India is a land of variety of cultures and ethnicity because of celebrating lots of colorful festivals by the people of different religions. People of the Christian religion celebrate their festivals like Christmas, Easter, Good Friday and etc with big enthusiasm and fun filled activities. People from other religions also become involve in the Christmas celebrations which proves the unity in diversity of India.

There are various famous places in India where the Christian festivals are celebrated such as Goa as most of the oldest and beautiful churches are there. They do feast, prayers and processions while celebrating their festivals. Below is the list of all Christian festivals:

Christian Festivals Date – 2018
Good Friday30 March Friday
Easter1 April Sunday
Christmas25 December Tuesday

Buddhist Festivals

People from Buddhist religion celebrate their festivals well connected to their Lord Buddha and the Bodhisattvas. It is considered that the Buddhist festivals were first started by the lord Buddha and He advised his followers to be in touch with each other to strengthen their bond. Buddhist has their own beliefs and rituals of celebrating historical festivals. The do worship of the historical objects while celebrating their festivals.

Their festivals become more religious, spiritual and intellectual which are not restricted to any service of the community. Below is the list of all the Buddhist festivals:

Buddhist Festivals Date – 2018
Losar16 February Friday to 18 February Sunday
Buddha Purnima22 May Tuesday
Hemis Gompa23 June Saturday to 24 June Sunday
Ullambana25 August Saturday