Pin Code Week

The pin code week is celebrated every year from 15th of January to the 21st of January to distribute the message about pin code importance. Every document has a small rectangular box which again has six partitions to fill up the pin code number of the particular place. This box is generally ignored by the people and left unfilled. This small box represents a steering wheel of the letter for the postal department.

Pin Code Week 2019

Pin Code Week 2019 will be observed from 15th of January (Tuesday) to the 21st of January (Monday).

The Pin Code Week is a week-long celebration during which various camps and awareness programs will be organised to help people understand the importance of pin code and how it helps to simplify things in our lives.

What is a PIN code

The full form of the PIN is Postal Index Number which is known by the name pin code or pin number. Pin code is a 6 digit’s unique number which has been allotted to the post offices. It helps a lot in delivering the mail all over the India. This pin code denotes the real address and ensures where the letter has to be reached.

How does PIN code work

To work the pin code system very well, the whole country has been divided into the eight PIN zones. States of the country is indicated by the particular number and direction wise such as:

> Number 1 denotes the Northern pin jones like Haryana, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Jammu & Kashmir.

> Number 2 denotes the other Northern pin jones like Uttar Pradesh and Uttaranchal.

> Number 3 denotes the Western pin jones like Rajasthan and Gujarat.

> Number 4 denotes the other Western pin jones like Maharastra, Chattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh.

> Number 5 denotes the Southern pin jones like Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka.

> Number 6 denotes the other Southern pin jones like Kerala and Tamil Nadu.

> Number 7 denotes the Eastern pin jones like Orissa, West Bengal and North Eastern.

> Number 8 denotes the other Eastern pin jones like Bihar and Jharkand.

As pin code is a number of six digits, first digit indicates pin zones (states or region), second and third digits indicates district (where the delivering post office is located), next three digits indicates the exact post office (where the letter is to be sent).


History of PIN code

The PIN Code system was introduced on 15 August 1972 by Shriram Bhikaji Velankar (an additional secretary in the Union Ministry of Communications). This system was introduced in order to simplify the manual sorting and delivery of mail by eliminating confusion over incorrect addresses, similar place names and different languages used by the public.

Pin code system was first opened to the public on 1st of April in the year 1774. At that time it was of only 3 pin jones such as Bengal (whole Eastern and Northern regions), Madras (whole Southern regions) and Bombay (rest of the regions). After becoming an independent India, pin code system was divided into eight pin jones.

How exactly are the Letters delivered?

Each PIN code represents exactly one delivery post office. This post office receives all the mail to be delivered to one or more lower offices within its jurisdiction, all of which share the same code. The delivery office can either be a General Post Office (GPO), a Head Office (HO) or Sub Office (SO). These are usually located in urban areas.

The post from the delivery office is sorted here. From here it is routed to other delivery offices for various different PINs that the letters or parcels hold. Branch offices (BO) are located in rural areas and have limited postal services. Thus the Pin Codes serves a vital piece of information for the Post Men to have the letters and parcels delivered to the exact address, without any confusion of the district or village where it is destined to be delivered.

Structure of Pin Code Number

Here’s an example of decoding your pin code. The pin code of one of the regions in Central Delhi is 110060.

  • The first digit indicates: northern region = 1
  • The second digit indicates: postal circle Delhi = 11
  • The third digit indicates: sorting district = 0 (which is central Delhi)
  • The last 3 digits indicate: the specific post office (Rajinder Nagar) = 060

Thus the 6 digit pin code for Rajinder Nagar in Central Delhi, North India is = 110060

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *